Cristiano Ronaldo and Leo Messi repeat in the ‘ideal 11’ of FIFA for the 15th consecutive year

Photo: David Ramos/Archive/Getty Images

As has become customary for 15 years, Cristiano Ronaldo and Leo Messi led the FIFA ‘ideal 11′ also known as ’11’ 2020-2021 FIFA FIFPRO, which also includes Pole Robert Lewandowski, winner of ‘The Best’ Award, and his former teammate David Alaba, today a Real Madrid defender.

This choice of the 11 best players by position for the 2020-2021 season, in which 18,947 footballers from 69 countries participated, each choosing three players for each position (goalkeeper, defense, midfielder and forward), left several unique data and several broken streaks.

Among the data, the aforementioned 15 consecutive mentions of Cristiano Ronaldo and Leo Messi stand out, while among the broken streaks it is necessary to mention the absence of Sergio Ramos for the first time since 2010. It is also surprising that no Brazilian player was selected for the first time in 14 years.

Meanwhile, it should be mentioned that players like the Italian Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG), the Austrian David Alaba, the Portuguese Ruben Dias (Manchester City), the Norwegian Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund) and the Italian Jorginho (Chelsea) they are in eleven for the first time.

For his part, the Italian Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Kevin De Bruyne, the Frenchman N’golo Kanté (Chelsea) and Lewandowski are for the second time.

Among other outstanding data we get that, Donnarumma was the character who received the most votes, with 11,955. While Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City) and the Argentine Lionel Messi (Barcelona/PSG), were the other two with the most votes, exceeding 10,000.

Composition of the 11 FIFA FIFPRO 2021:

– Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Donnarumma (Milan/Paris Saint-Germain, ITA)

– Defenders: David Alaba (Bayern Munich/Real Madrid, AUT), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus, ITA), Ruben Dias (Manchester City, POR)

– Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, BEL), Jorginho (Chelsea, ITA), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea, FRA)

– Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/Manchester United, POR), Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund, NOR), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, POL) and Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain, ARG).

Also read:
– Find out who Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo voted for in the ‘The Best’ Awards
– Historic goalscorer: Cristiano Ronaldo receives a special award for record goals with national teams
– Germany Repeat: Thomas Tuchel won ‘The Best’ for the best coach of 2021