Sergio “Checo” Pérez is the first Mexican to win the Monaco GP

Sergio “Checo” Pérez achieved a victory for the first time in the historic circuit of Monaco, corresponding to the seventh date of the 2022 Formula 1 championship.

He became the first Mexican F1 driver to win in the Principality!

On a day determined by rain and red flags, Sergio Pérez secured his third victory in Formula 1 this morning. In the Monaco Grand Prix, he became the winningest Mexican in history, after breaking the tie (two) with the legendary Pedro Rodríguez.  

On the emblematic street circuit, where he reached the podium in 2016 (third), he achieved a new historical result in the highest category. For the third consecutive year he reached the top of the podium: in 2020 he inaugurated his record in Sakhir; in 2021 he was first in Azerbaijan.

A forceful strategy, from a practically perfect undercut, represented two overtaking: placed in third position, Checo Pérez rose to the lead in the race, ahead of the local Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz, drivers of the Ferrari team.

With the multiple incidents, the stopwatch (and not the agreed 78 laps) marked the end of the journey on the streets of the principality. In the last minutes, the Spaniard constantly pressed in the dispute; however, the national prevailed without major setbacks.

With 25 units harvested, the native of Guadalajara became the thirteenth driver in history to add a thousand units in Formula 1. Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, Fernando Alonso, Valtteri Bottas, Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo did it previously.

Behind the Mexican, Sainz (second) and Verstappen watched the checkered flag. Leclerc, poleman, finally concluded an edition on his land, however, he lost places in the pursuit of his fifth podium of the campaign, where he led the first weeks.

In the Drivers’ Championship, Pérez (110) closed the gap against Leclerc (114) and Verstappen (125), current world champion. In the collective competition, Red Bull (235) achieved a new blow of authority, after widening the gap over the Tifosi group (191).