War in Concacaf: Canada and the United States tied and still without winning in the octagonal

War in Concacaf: Canada and the United States tied and still without winning in the octagonal

The selections of The United States and Canada tied this Sunday 1-1 on the second day of the octagonal final of the Concacaf qualifiers for the Qatar 2022 World Cup, and they were tied with two points.

The United States dominated during the first half but could not finish despite having forward Christian Pulisic, recovered from covid-19, although without continuity as he could not play on Thursday against El Salvador (0-0).

Midfielder Brenda Aaronson put forward the selection of the stars and stripes in the 55th minute, after a great team play.

However, the joy of the locals ended in 62 with both striker Cyle Larin, who ended a great connection with Alphonso Davies.

The visitors’ reaction came with the changes made by coach John Herdman. His colleague Gregg Berhalter decided to look for new formulas for the end of the game, when the Canadians were betting everything on an ultra-conservative scheme.

The Stars and Stripes team has two points, the same from Canada, which on Thursday lost a 1-1 draw to Honduras.

The next match of the United States will be this Thursday in Honduras, while Canada will receive El Salvador, which this Sunday again drew 0-0, in their field, against Honduras.

Data sheet

1. United States: Matt Turner; Sergiño Dest (d.44, DeAndre Yedlin), Miles Robinson, John Brooks, Antonee Robinson; Kellyn Acosta, Tyler Adams, Sebastián Lletget (d.83, Cristian Roldán); Brenden Aaronson (m.85, Josh Sargent), Jordan Siebatcheu (m.85, Konrad De La Fuente) and Christian Pulisic.

Coach: Gregg Berhalter.

1. Canada: Milan Borjan; Alistair Johnston, Doneil Henry, Scott Kennedy (d.58, Kamal Miller); Richie Laryea, Stephen Eustaquio, Mark-Anthony Kaye (d.77, Atiba Hutchinson), Samuel Adekugbe; Junior Hoilett (m.65, Tajon Buchanan), Cyle Larin (m.65, Jonathan David) and Alphonso Davies (m.76, Jonathan Osorio).

Coach: John Herdman.

Goals: 1-0, m.55: Brenden Aaronson. 1-1, m.62: Cyle Larin.

Source link