Which teams will participate in Qatar 2022? Get to know the panorama of world football a few months before the start of the World Cup

Photo: FRANCK FIFE/Getty Images

The World Cup in Qatar 2022 you will know in this next ‘window’ the name of fourteen new selections that will compete this winter in the Asian country and will be complete in the absence of three places, which will define in June the intercontinental playoffs and the last in Europe that cannot be resolved now due to the war in Ukraine, whose match against Scotland has been postponed.

Qatar, as hosts, Iran, South Korea (Asia), Germany, Denmark, Belgium, France, Croatia, Spain, Serbia, England, Switzerland, the Netherlands (Europe), Brazil and Argentina (Conmebol), are the fifteen teams that have already secured their place in the World Cup.

This next week, the last competitive one before the draw on April 1st, the five of the African Confederation will be defined in as many qualifiers, two from Asia, two from Conmebol, two from Europe and three from Concacaf.

There would therefore remain three vacancies to be resolved, that of the two intercontinental playoffs (Asia-Conmebol and Concacaf-Oceania) and that of the last in Europe that cannot be resolved these days due to the postponement of the meeting of Ukraine in Glasgow due to the impossibility of playing it due to the invasion of Russia.


The moment of truth has arrived on the African continent. After two tough phases, the AFC will define its five places in as many round-trip qualifiers this week.

stands out the Egypt-Senegal. The duel between Liverpool teammates Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane. In February, at the CAN 2002 final, he celebrated the latter after a penalty shootout. In this tie he has the home field advantage in the second leg.

Cameroon-Algeria, Ghana-Nigeria, DR Congo-Morocco and Mali-Tunisia are the other clashes.


The Asian zone will close this week the third qualifying round, which consists of two groups with six selections. The first two of each get a direct place and the third will play a single match tie at a neutral venue that gives access to the intercontinental playoff against the fifth of Conmebol.

Iran and South Korea have certified their place in the World Cup in group A and in group B the table is led by Saudi Arabia (19 points) and Japan (18). Australia is third (15) and at the moment they would face the United Arab Emirates in that extra round, which has to visit Iraq and receive the South Koreans; while the ‘Socceroos’ have a key duel in Sydney against the ‘Samurais Blues’ before closing this phase in Jeddah.


Brazil and Argentina assured days ago their presence in the World Cup. The fight for the other two direct access places and the play-off remains open in the last two days. Ecuador ranks third with 25, three more than Uruguay. Peru is fifth with 21, for Chile’s 19 and Colombia’s 17.

The Ecuadorian team will visit Paraguay and receive Argentina; Uruguay will face Peru in Montevideo and Chile in Santiago; Peru will close at home against Paraguay; the Red will visit Brazil in Rio on the penultimate date; and Colombia, which has it the worst, because it does not depend on itself, has the visit to Bolivia and the trip to Venezuela.

The fifth classified will meet in June in one of the intercontinental playoffs to the fifth in the Asian zone that is the winner of a final tie.


Solved the group stage, the Old Continent faces the playoffs that will give the last three tickets, and it is notably affected by the war in Ukraine. Russia has been suspended and loses all options.

Therefore, the Russian team is eliminated and Robert Lewandowski’s Poland advance to the final of Route B against the winner of the duel Sweden-Czech Republic. He will also play at home.

on route A Wales and Austria will meet in Cardiff. The winner will meet the winner of the Scotland-Ukrainegame postponed due to the situation that is being experienced in the Ukrainian country, so this square will not be resolved until June.

Route C brings a tremendous final for a ticket between two world powers like Portugal and Italywho will receive in their respective semifinals Turkey and North Macedonia. These, however, announce battle. Cristiano Ronaldo is pursuing what may be his last universal appointment and the ‘azzurra’ cannot afford another ko after staying out of Russia 2018.


After eleven days of the octagonal final, the teams from Canada (25), United States (21) and Mexico (21). Panama, fourth (17), and Costa Rica, fifth (16) today are the ones fighting for the playoff spot that will face the winner of the Oceania zone.

In this ‘window’ the remaining three days will be held in which the league will be resolved. Mexico will receive the United States and El Salvador and will visit Honduras; Canada will travel to Costa Rica and Panama and will host Jamaica; In addition to playing against the ‘tri’, the USA will host Panama and visit Costa Rica.


The OFC has ‘half a quota’. The winner of the qualifying phase, which is taking place these days in Doha, will face to fourth in the Concacaf zone.

Vanuatu has communicated its decision to withdraw upon detecting that almost all the members of the team had tested positive for covid-19 before the match against Tahiti in Doha.

The first two of each group qualify for the semifinals, which will be played on the 27th. The final will take place on the 30th. New Zealand is the favourite.

You may also like:
· What does Mexico need to qualify for Qatar 2022? El Tri has the World Cup in his hands
· Mexico vs. United States: probable line-ups, schedule and where you can see the match in which qualification for the Qatar 2022 World Cup will be at stake
Warning for El Tri: Paul Arriola assures that it is time for the United States to savor glory in the Azteca Stadium